New activity

You may have noticed I’ve been a lot more active at Ubuntu Forums lately (actually, I’m hoping you haven’t and have better things to do). For many months I was barely active and hardly posted at all. Now that I think about it, GNOME is to blame.

You see, I had managed to get GNOME set up to a point that it was perfectly usable for me. The problem is, it was too usable; there were no flaws whatsoever. It was so flawless that I hardly felt the need to visit Ubuntu Forums, since everything was perfect as is and I needed no help. It’s every Linux n00b’s dream, but my nightmare. It was so…BORING! 😛

That being said, I decided to switch to Openbox. I worked from the ground up hacking at every config file I could find. I went and tried out dozens of programs until I found ones that fit me best. I asked questions, helped other members out, gave tips — and while I was doing it, I thought, “I feel like a Linux user again”.

By switching back to Openbox I felt what I truly loved about open source: the warm sense of community, the chance to contribute and share, and the ability to help out thousands of users with what took you just a couple hours to do. This, my friends, is what it’s all about. 🙂

Jus’ wanted to let you all know that. It’s great to be back in the community again.

Posted in linux. Tags: . Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

